Bookish

Books Read in July!

Hello all!

July was a particularly fun reading month for me- though I did not read as much as I had wished (IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE?!)  I still got a few great books in!

WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI by Sandhya Menon was a beautiful, lovely, heart warming read. I really loved Dimple and Rishi’s culture and how different they were in regards to it; Dimple, while she does embrace her heritage (not as much as Rishi, of course), she still manages to dance to her own beat without feeling forced to marry young. Dimple also prefers to think of herself as more than just a woman with looks- she values her intelligence and talent when it comes to the world of coding and app building and all that tech-y stuff I wish I understood.

Rishi follows his parent’s lead verbatim while always doing what is expected of him. He plans on going to college to be an engineer because it is a realistic decision in this day and age. He wants to marry young and immediately start on his “forever” with a girl (preferably Dimple.)

Throughout the book, Rishi teaches Dimple to embrace her culture more as well as appreciating her parents. Dimple encourages Rishi to “step out of the box” and purse an art career. Basically, they are both just perfect for each other.

I loved Rishi and Dimple’s relationship. It is clearly portrayed that they are best friends, as well as obviously a couple. They highly support and encourage each other. The relationship may get a little too gooey for me, (so much kissing in front of Rishi’s brother???!!) but, hey, it is a beautiful love affair.

I highly recommend this book to any romance/contemporary YA lovers! Though the large book was somewhat daunting, the story really did flow by quickly.

Ah, Scarlet! #2 in THE LUNAR CHRONICLES by Marissa Meyer. Here’s a secret: I actually started this book last August but finally finished it in July. Oops, yeah…but I am still counting it towards my books read in July!

So, like most people who have read The Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Scarlet are super cool. They are two people who I would want kicking some ass by my side!

While I did enjoy Scarlet (despite my mega-long break from reading it), I still think I enjoyed Cinder more. I really enjoyed Cinder and Kai’s relationship, which you see a lot more of in Cinder. Not only that, but I think I just enjoyed CInder’s personal story more. The fact thats he is 1.) a mechanic 2.) a cyborg. The fact that she is- well, basically bionicle- is super cool and unlike anything I have read before.

Though Cinder’s story is my favorite so far, I did enjoy the relationship between Scarlet and her grandma as well as Scarlet’s fierce dedication towards saving her. There was just something about Scarlet’s attitude that kind of “irked” me a little more than I had wished. BUT! That’s just me, and I know a few other people who actually really love Scarlet’s story! Probably cause she is a badass, independent woman and who can say no to that kind of woman?

I am hoping to start the third installment in the series, CRESS, within the next month or so because I am highly anticipating finding out where the story goes! (And I need more of Cinder and Kai, please!)

So, if you don’t already know, I read ELIZA AND HER MONSTERS, in May after receiving it in my OwlCrate box and I absolutely loved it. Naturally, I had to go read Francesca Zappia’s other book, MADE YOU UP- which, you better believe it!, includes a character with schizophrenia! I absolutely adore books with a mental illness theme, and I am intrigued by all things mental health, so I was very excited to read this book.

(I do not have schizophrenia myself, nor do I personally know anyone else who has it so I am unaware on how accurate the author’s details about this mental illness is.)

I really enjoyed Alex as a character and I appreciated her effort in trying to have a normal high school career in spite of her mental illness. Miles was a dreamboat, to sum it all up. When he finds out about Alex’s schizophrenia, he is very chill about it and does not treat her any differently, despite Alex’s fears about the aforementioned.

In addition to Alex’s story with her dealings of her schizophrenia, I enjoy Miles’ story as well. He is a complex character with, basically, a lot of feelings and a lot of darkness in that mind of his. His home life is not ideal whatsoever, which really makes me feel sad things for him. He experiences something most of us could probably relate to– feeling alone, like no one cares for you, like you do not have any friends. But, he learns- as most of us hopefully do- that there are people out there who love and care for us.

The characters in this book are just so well created, and the story itself reads like a contemporary but will spontaneously hit you RIGHT IN THE FEELS out of the blue. (I literally dropped the book and gaped- mouth wide open!- for at least a whole 3 minutes.)

Anyways- Francesca Zappia is an awesome person and writer and, so far, I have enjoyed everything she has done.

 

img_3830

Well, obviously the reason this book is on this list is because this past month or so I have become completely obsessed with Hamilton. (Which says A. LOT. because I rarely become *this* obsessed with anything.) So of course, I had to read the love story of ALEX AND ELIZA and Alex is a wondrous intelligent man and Eliza is who I aspire to be.

Obviously the book had some differences from the musical, but that did not bother me as much as I know it had bothered others. I am always astounded by how ahead of her time Eliza was- I appreciated how she did to put too much effort into her looks, or even finding a husband for that matter. Her dedication towards the revolutionary war and taking care of the injured soldiers says a lot about her character and her empathy and it is just. beautiful. Eliza Schyler is someone any girl can look up to; something I will forever be in awe of.

I like how in the book you really get a deep look into Alex’s deep love for Eliza, which is something you do not really get to see much of in the musical (in my opinion.) It would have been nice to have more history with politics and that sort, but I guess that is what the musical is for– the book is for the romance.  😉

Sometimes I forget how much I love historical fiction.

Definitely a recommend for Hamilton fans who love Alex and Eliza’s relationship as I do!


Here is hoping August brings a lot more great reads! Leave a comment below and tell me what you read in July and if you have any historical fiction recs!

2 thoughts on “Books Read in July!”

  1. I love The Lunar Chronicles!! You will get lots more of Cinder and Kai as the series progresses. I found Scarlett’s personality irking, as well, but came to enjoy her more as the series progresses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

