Jessica’s Story

A Little Bit About Jessica:

Hi I’m Jess from rosiejess.blogspot.co.uk! I’m a sixteen year old beauty lover from Liverpool with a passion for writing. I also love reading, pizza and pugs (all the good stuff). I started my blog to meet new people and share my thoughts with the world. I hope you enjoy! 😊


How Jessica Conquered Anxiety & Depression:

Anxiety is an awful emotion to feel. It creeps up on you when you least expect and turns your life upside down. People feel anxiety in different ways, and the way it affects us is totally different too. I’ve been suffering with anxiety for over a year now, so I wanted to give some advice and remind those of you who suffer that you are not alone and it is not permanent.

At first, my anxiety was not as noticeable, as I was always a nervous and shy child in social situations. But as I got older, I noticed that this nervous feeling was happening a lot more frequently and randomly; soon, I was having panic attacks on a daily basis, which was so frustrating as it disrupted my life and stopped me from doing stuff I wanted to do.

For those of you who don’t understand what a panic attack is, it is basically a sudden feeling of dread, as if everyone is staring at you and smothering you as the room shrinks around you. Then our body releases adrenaline, which causes our muscles to tense and breathing to quicken. We also feel light-headed and dizzy as blood rushes to the muscles. This causes us to feel nauseous too.

For me, panic attacks could occur anywhere and everywhere, but a lot of the time it was in school, which was where I had my first major panic attack. I was sitting in maths on the front row with my classmates when all of sudden I felt this tightening in my throat and this horrible dizziness. My heart then rapidly started to pound. I felt incredibly claustrophobic and as if everyone was looking at me as the room starts to close in on me. I literally felt like I couldn’t breathe, and I had to rush out of the room immediately. At this point I didn’t care what my classmates were thinking, I just needed to get out. Afterwards I remember thinking “Why is this happening to me?” and I feared this was going to be my life forever now. Well I want to tell those who are thinking this that it is definitely not permanent and will go away with time and determination.

Here are some tips that have really helped me when I ever feel anxious or feel a panic attack coming on:

  • Slow, deep breathing in through the nose and out through the mouth
  • Fresh Air – Walking away from the situation

Long Term:

  • Therapy- Talking to a professional about your anxiety can really help you get to grips with it.
  • Listening to relaxing music or mediation apps before going somewhere you may panic in: I recommend the apps Mind and Headspace. I also find that drawing or doodling help me to relax too.
  • Writing down your thoughts and feelings whenever you feel anxious
  • Taking it easy- Try not to rush to places or stress about deadlines, as this can trigger your anxiety. Taking a break can help gain perspective and think clearly again.

This goes for depression too. At the start of this year, I was at a really low point. I felt worthless and hopeless and didn’t have motivation for anything. But I got through it, and so can you. I thought I would never be happy again, but soon I realised that I deserve to be happy, and I have a place on this Earth. And so do you reading this right now. YOU are loved and YOU deserve happiness. You just have to believe it.

“The important thing to remember when trying to feel better is to make reasonable goals. Anything has the possibility of making you feel more depressed if you set an unrealistic goal. For example, exercising is positive, but setting the goal for yourself to run five miles a day might make you feel more depressed if that’s not something you’re able to accomplish. Small goals and small steps forward work best.”

So here are my tips for a happy and healthier mind. I am no therapist or doctor but these are the methods that I found really helped me get back on my feet, and I hope these can help someone in some way too.

  • Start a new hobby, it can be anything from football to photography, as long as it is something you enjoy. For me, it was blogging.
  • Maintain a healthy, balanced diet.
  • Pamper yourself- Evenings I would de-stress by running myself a bubble bath, using a face mask (I recommend the Lush ones!) and then getting a good nights sleep.
  • Talk about how you’re feeling with a loved one. You don’t have to suffer alone.
  • Surround yourself with the people who love you and avoid spending long periods of time alone.
  • Yoga and Meditation
  • Exercising to release endorphins.
  • Remember that feeling better takes time, but those bad feelings will not last forever.

I am now a much more positive person. I can control my anxiety as I will not let it defeat me and get in the way of my life anymore. By developing this positive mindset, I have not only got a hold on my anxiety, but also gained understanding of my depression and how to not let it control me anymore.I hope this post has helped in some way, and has provided some motivation for those who are going through a rough time right now. Things will get better.

castle-mountain-weekend-157


I decided to start a guest blog series in an effort to expose the diverse and beautiful people out there in the world. “Our Stories” is a guest blog series where I give writers a chance to share a unique story, experience, etc. that has made them into the person they are today. These unique stories can range from topics like sexuality or race to being a hospice nurse or growing up with a single mom- anything that has the power to shape a person’s life.

What experiences have you had that makes you who you are? If you are interested in participating in this guest blogger series, send me an email at brandibrendle@gmail.com so we can discuss. I am looking for multiple stories that  show how wonderfully contrast this world is. 

Author: xobrandilarissa

Welcome to my little corner of the world~

1 thought on “Jessica’s Story”

Leave a Reply

