Brandi Attempts BTAT 2017

Hello all and welcome to my BRANDI ATTEMPTS BTAT 2017 post! If you don’t know what BTAT is, it stands for booktube-a-thon! It goes from July 24 to the 30th, and basically you use the time to read all the books you can! This was created by Ariel Bissett, who is an awesome booktuber and basically the coolest person ever for creating this!

This will be my first read-a-thon EVER, so I am not putting high expectations on myself. I also get my wisdom teeth taken out Wednesday, so I am highly sure that will put a damper on my reading! (Hello, sleep!) Nevertheless! I wanted to take part in all the fun!

There are seven reading challenges and here are my picks for them!

1.  Read a book with a person on the cover

I bought this book recently at Half Price Books because I heard nothing but amazing things about the story! So, naturally, I was eager to pick this to read for the read-a-thon.

2.  Read a hyped book

…and, the whole reason I bought this book was because of it’s mega-hype, so it conveniently fits two challenges!

3. Finish a book in one day

I am not that confident in myself of finishing a normal size young adult novel in one day, especially considering my wisdom teeth surgery and work the days before. So, a good pick for this challenge was of course a manga– Sailor Moon!

4. Read about a character that is very different from you

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda: a book centered around a sixteen-year-old boy, Simon, who is gay. Basically, Simon is a boy, I am not. Simon is gay, I am not.  Two simple differences between us, but different enough to count for this challenge!

5. Finish a book completely outdoors

Since You’ve Been Gone is written by Morgan Matson, who writes the most perfect summer books. This was a perfect fit for this challenge! But if you know me at all, you know I am not a huge outdoors person, so this will probably be a difficult challenge for me… oops.

6. Read a book you got because of the cover

Believe it or not, I actually do not often buy books because of the covers- I really solely on Goodreads ratings. A super added bonus about me buying When Dimple Met Rishi was the absolutely stunning cover! So, here it is for yet another challenge because I guess I am kind of a cheater.

7.  Read seven books.

Seven books in seven days: can I do it? Probably not, but that’s okay! To make my final book count up to seven books, I added three graphic novels to the mix! Giant Days 3 and 4, my favorite graphic novel series and Jessica Jones: Alias Vol. 2 because Jessica is the coolest superhero!

 

If you have read these books, leave in the comments- what do you think? Are you doing BTAT17 too? Link me to your BTAT TBR!

 

Author: xobrandilarissa

Welcome to my little corner of the world~

2 thoughts on “Brandi Attempts BTAT 2017”

  1. I’m not doing BTAT – simply because I seriously have no time at all to spare this week, haha. But I am going to join the Make Me Read It Read-a-thon and that will be MY first ever readathon. Definitely looking forward to it! [At least now the BF won’t have a reason to complain when I’m just reading because, you know, I’m doing a readathon so leave me alone, haha.]

    Like

  2. I definitely can’t do 7 seven books in a week’s time, but you go girl!! I’m currently reading The Historian by Kostova, and it’s really fantastic. I’m not a slow reader, but it’s quite the deep book. Totally loving it so far. I’m hoping to finish that one by the 30th, at least!

    And graphic novels isn’t cheating! You might turn the pages faster, so what? It’s still a story! Good luck, and looking forward to your awesome results!

    Like

Leave a Reply

