If You Love Me, Then Help Me.

 

For those out there suffering with a mental illness, you can probably relate:

During my “down days”, people are always asking me how they can help, what they can do for me, etc. It is always such a difficult question to answer, as there is not just one thing someone can do for a person to make everything better.

 

Which leads me to this idea:

If you love me, then please help me by understanding…

Help me by understanding sometimes I am just too tired to leave the house…

And sometimes, I just don’t feel up for a simple conversation.

Help me by giving me an ear when I need to talk, or a shoulder when I need to cry… even if you don’t understand why I’m so upset, because chances are, I don’t know why I’m upset either.

Help me by pushing me to do my best, but understanding that sometimes I am just incapable of giving my best.

Sometimes, I will cancel plans at the last minute… do not be upset with me, please just understand it is not my fault.

Some days I will be extroverted, but the very next day it may be difficult for me to leave my bed; understand a new day may seemingly make me a different person.

Understand that sometimes my only solace can be found in the pages of a book.

Help me by understanding that my anxiety, my depression, my rough days do not define me.

Listen to me when I want to talk, but understand when I can’t find the words to express what I am feeling.

I am more than what goes on in my head- I am finally understanding this, please understand this as well.

Help me by understanding sometimes I wish more than anything to escape my invading thoughts. 

Sometimes, understanding is all a person may need ~

 

One thought on “If You Love Me, Then Help Me.

Leave a Reply

