Recently Read May/June 2016

A Court of Thorns and Roses 16096824

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Published: May 5, 2015

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Even before picking up this book, I knew I would love it. I have loved Sarah J Maas’s Throne of Glass series, I heard fellow book lovers’ opinions on this book, so I knew in my heart and soul that A Court of Thorn and Roses would be a book I would end up highly enjoying.

Though I knew I would love it, it still surprised me just how much I loved it.

I do love the fantasy genre, but it takes a lot for a fantasy book to really grasp and hold my attention. Sarah J Maas did just that with this book!

The world fascinated me, as well as Feyre’s lifestyle; the environment surrounding the Fae, specifically the different “courts”, was incredibly intriguing. (Yes I immediately took a quiz to see which court I would belong in, that’s besides the point. It is Day Court,  by the way.)

Obviously, the relationship between Feyre and Tamlin was borderline abusive at first, considering he kidnapped her and forced her to live with her; but in my opinion, the love itself was not abusive because Tamlin did genuinely care and adore Feyre. I’m not favoring Feyre and Tamlin in the long run, but I did appreciate the relationship Sarah build in this  novel.

This book kept me on my toes during late hours while devouring each and every page.

I wanted to wait a bit to read A Court of Mist and Fury (The sequel to A Court of Thorn and Roses), but as I am writing this I have the intense craving to just run to my reading room, grab the beauty that is ACOMAF, snuggle up and just read it all night.

Hm, I might.

Details to follow.

Illuminae23395680

Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Published: October 20th, 2015

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

In addition to A Court of Thorns and Roses, Illuminae is also a book I picked up mainly for the hype.

I wish the first half would have been more fast paced, but I may just be saying that because I typically prefer fast paced books. Towards the second half of the book though, I FLEW through it. I love the unique way it was written, including how the book showed different perspectives of different characters. The plot itself was unique and nothing like I have ever read before, which always makes me happy. (The fact that it was unique and science fiction-y made me very happy.)

KADY GRANT. I could talk about her all night! I loved her and I am fairly certain she is turning out to be one of my favorite female characters of all time. (Up there with Celaena Sardothien.) She was just so badass, courageous, and selfless; the way she put her life on the line to help those on board the opposite ship is what really “wowed” me over with her. What a lady.

I am highly looking forward to reading Gemina when it comes out, because I am aching to find out what happens with the rest of the story!

An Ember in the Ashes 27774758

Author: Sabaa Tahir

Published: February 9th, 2016

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.
 
Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution of their loved ones and the destruction of all they hold dear.
 
It is in this brutal world, inspired by ancient Rome, that Laia lives with her grandparents and older brother. The family ekes out an existence in the Empire’s impoverished backstreets. They do not challenge the Empire. They’ve seen what happens to those who do.
 
But when Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, Laia is forced to make a decision. In exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother, she will risk her life to spy for them from within the Empire’s greatest military academy.
 
There, Laia meets Elias, the school’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias wants only to be free of the tyranny he’s being trained to enforce. He and Laia will soon realize that their destinies are intertwined—and that their choices will change the fate of the Empire itself.

This is a book that had been sitting on my shelf for over a year, and after reading quite a few contemporary books, I decided I was in the mood for something fantasy. So, I decided that was the right time to pick up An Ember in the Ashes!

This book was freaky. I think it was a combination of Sabaa’s writing and the Commandment, but I actually had a few nightmares of me being enslaved. (THANK YOU, SABAA!)

I did enjoy the world Sabaa built, though it did feel similiar to other fantasy books I have read. I really treasured Sabaa’s writing, though; she was able to describe each scene and paint each character with such talent that I envy.

Though I thought the overall plot was similiar to other fantasy books, specific details were very different and that is one of the things that kept me excitedly turning each page.

An Ember in the Ashes is a very dark, creepy, keep-you-on-the-edge-of-your-seat, scared-to-turn-your-lights-off book that I will recommend to all you fantasy readers!

 

Dreamology23466626

Author: Lucy Keating

Published: April 12, 2016

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

Okay, first off, I was really looking forward to the release of this book and getting to read it. Unfortunately, it did not fit my taste or expectations.

This is nothing I ever really wish for, but I think I would have enjoyed the book more if it was longer and included more details, scenes, character descriptions, etc. There really weren’t too many subplots, besides Alice’s relationship with her mother (which I also would have liked to see touched on more), and I think a few more subplots would have added to the story.

I TOTALLY LOVED the plot idea; Alice randomly meeting the actual boy from her dreams as well as the “dreamology” science. It was a great idea, but I feel as if I would have enjoyed the book more if the idea was put into play a tad differently.

Ok, more positivity regarding this book: I really, really, loved Oliver. I was actually totally rooting for Alice to end up with Oliver because he is hilarious, friendly, and I Imagined him as a huge teddy bear. (I have a tendency to lean towards the trouble-making characters in books, oops)

I know several people enjoyed Dreamology, most enjoyed it more than me, and I respect that and admire Lucy Keating’s great ability to attract and entertain numerous readers. I did have high hopes for the book for myself, but the book did not meet up to those expectations.

 

 

The Unexpected Everything  17838528

Author: Morgan Matson 

Published: May 3rd, 2016

Rating: ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

What immediately drew me to this book was my instant connection with Andie. I relate to her because I myself like to have things planned- I want to surprises or anything unexpected to hit me out of the blue.

But, unexpected things do happen in life and Andie learns this throughout the book- which is such a fabulous story told by the lovely Morgan Matson.

Morgan describes the characters so well, making each character incredibly lovable in their own way. I am forever wishing I had the group of friends Morgan does. You get a good sense and understanding of Andie and her dad’s relationship, and you really feel the bond that begins to form between them throughout the book. AND OBVIOUSLY, there is Clark, who is the perfect nerdy boyfriend that every dorky girl wants. *sigh*

The Unexpected Everything is my favorite read so far this year- there was just something so relatable about Andie herself and her relationship with others that you can just really connect you. I can not wait to read more of Morgan Matson’s books!
What was your favorite book you read recently? Have you read any of these books? Let me know in the comments!

 

Author: xobrandilarissa

Welcome to my little corner of the world~

5 thoughts on “Recently Read May/June 2016”

  1. The only one I’ve read on your list is Ember! I didn’t love it, but I liked it for sure. I’m going to have to read the others here! Great post

    Like

  2. I’ve wanted to read all of these books! I also love Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series, so I’m excited to read ACOTAR. I’ve read Morgan Matson’s Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour and Second Chance Summer and loved them both so much!

    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

