Meeting Jesse Andrews

A few weeks ago, I got to meet Jesse Andrews (author of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl) at my local book store- Penguin Bookshop in Sewickley, PA.

It’s a lovely, cozy little book store and it’s always a welcoming place to shop with the kind employees!

I went to the signing with my mom; it was my first book signing I have ever been to- and it was a great one!

The evening started out with Jesse Andrews being introduced, and him sort of describing his life growing up in the Pittsburgh area (pssst which is where I grew up and where the signing took place.) He talked about growing up in Pittsburgh, his college experience, and his “adventure” to becoming a writer. Then, he talked about his books and read an excerpt from his new book The Haters. 

Basically, my mom and I spent the whole time smiling and chuckling because Jesse Andrews is a pretty rad and hilarious dude.

Then, I got an author to sign a book of mine for the FIRST TIME EVER ~~~~

He signed both books of his, The Haters and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl. As I was chatting with him, my mom decided to let him know that I am “an aspiring writer *blushes in embarrassment* *but is secretly happy mom told him because I was too scared to*

SO I GOT AN EXTRA SPECIAL AUTOGRAPH IN MY BOOK!

 

 

 

Also, a fun little tidbit for anyone out there interested: After the book signing, I went next door to the Starbucks to catch up on some work and some blogging. While sitting there, Jesse walked by and gave me a friendly wave. So, yeah, that’s super cool.

Thank you, Jesse, for writing hilariously heart warming books and for continuing to return to little old Pittsburgh. I will always recommend your books to people, as well as tell everyone how generous, funny, and talented you are!

 

 

Leave a Reply

