The Impossible Knife of Memory Review: 3/5

So, I literally just finished reading The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson.

The novel is about a girl, Hayley, who has spent her life running away from her father’s severe PTSD. Finally, they move back to the father’s hometown, but he unfortunately has a major setback in regards to his PTSD. The question at hand then becomes: should Hayley continue to give up every thing to take care of her ill father, or should she finally start to live her own life?

I have been mauling over in my bed what exactly I wanted to say in this review, but I do not know how to put it into words.

I hadn’t heard of this book until I found it at my local Barnes N Noble; I grabbed it because the plot really intrigued me. I hadn’t read much about PTSD, so I figured why not give it a try?

It really didn’t “grab” me at first after starting to read it, but for some reason I still kept on reading and reading (instead of giving up, like I usually do!) which I think was because I really wanted to know what ended up happening with Hayley and her father.

I think I wanna say that the main plot was well written, but there were some subplots throughout the book I wish would have been elaborated on. Personally, I think the author could have made this book longer in order to satisfy the numerous subplots. (Or, maybe less subplots?)

I also wasn’t in love with the author’s writing. I could tell that Laurie was a talented writer, I just do not believe it was writing that really clicked with my interests.

All in all, I give this book a 3/5. It had its ups and downs, I am happy I finished., but (for lack of a better word) I’m just kinda…..eh about it.

Has anyone else read this book? What do you think?

Brandi

One thought on “The Impossible Knife of Memory Review: 3/5

Leave a Reply

