Good for Her, Not for Me.

Good for her, not for me

~Amy Poehler

I first saw this quote back in the summer when I read an article on Facebook and to this day it remains a quote that I consistently keep in the back of my mind for confidence, reassurance, and comfort.

I came across this quote again while reading Amy Poehler’s Yes, Please! She refers to this quote when discussing the ongoing feud between stay at home mom’s and working mom’s and the comparisons that constantly go on between them. It is also mentioned in a previous chapter, which is when I think this quote really displays it’s importance towards women (and men!) everywhere.

“That is the motto women should constantly repeat over and over again. ‘Good for her! Not for me.'”

Girls so often spend their time comparing themselves to others. Whether it be their accomplishments, their looks, their personality… etc. and so forth forever.

I admit, I do it too; when I see someone with tanner skin than me, a tinier nose, a more outgoing personality, I dwell and dwell on these qualities that I just don’t have. It is not a self esteem booster at all; exactly the opposite. Comparing yourself has the powerful capability of bringing your self-confidence way lower than you ever thought possible. No one wants to reach that point. When you catch yourself getting near this point, have Amy’s quote playing in your mind like a broken record: Good for her, not for me. Write a post-it note and stick it on your mirror so you can be reminded of it before you go to bed and when you wake up.

This is such a powerful, influential quote that can keep women reminded that just because someone’s accomplishments or lifestyle is different than your own, that is okay! It does not mean you are doing anything wrong. What’s good for her doesn’t have to be good for you.

This leads me to sharing a quote by Kelly Clarkson which I believe ties in very well with this discussion and brings up a good point~

What a terrific point made by a beautiful, inspirational lady. You can always want what someone else has, just like someone may want what YOU have (believe it or not!)

As long as you are doing your best and  being true to who you are, you will be just fine.

And if you see someone else and start to doubt your capabilities, just remember: Good for her, not for you.

And as a little farewell…

Brandi

 

3 thoughts on “Good for Her, Not for Me.

Leave a Reply

